Cheap Dupes & Matches for Urban Outfitters Overpriced S$#%

You see, I love me some good old 90s/early 2000s No Doubt. Spiderwebs? Iconic.

I lived for Gwen’s vocals and weird style choices. She made me feel like I could be a little different and still be really cool.

So, obviously I immediately picked up the first No Doubt I saw when shopping the day before my birthday  (treat myself, right?). Elated, I ran to the fitting room. After pulling the shirt over my head and catching a glimpse of my reflection in the mirror, I feel in deep deep retail love.

UNTIL I stood on the checkout line with said tee in hand and saw the price tag: $34.90. A cheap and savvy shopper, I automatically pulled up Amazon on my phone and leafed through the results the online retailer had for the search terms “No Doubt Tee.”

On the second digital page, there the tee I fell in love with sat, at only $21. Quickly, I bought the tee online, left Urban’s insane cash register line and put the insanely overpriced graphic band tee back where I found it.

Urban Outfitters has always overpriced their basic items, this isn’t news to me. However, the “No Doubt Tee Situation of 2017” really got me going. How dare they? Where do they get off overpricing and overcharging? They know their demographic and they know what they can afford. To overprice is seriously messed up.

So, below are some tees that Urban sells that you can find for cheaper on the depths of the interweb as found by me.

 

90S NO DOUBT GRUNGE BAND TEE (the shirt that inspired this entire blog post)

The only difference between the three shirts below is the portion that has the words, “No Doubt.”

(From left to right)

Shirt #1 (The Culprit): Urban Outfitters, $34.90.

Shirt #2: Amazon, $12.66.

Shirt #3: Hot Topic, $22.90.

 

CLASSIC MINIMALIST FRIENDS LOGO TEE

(From left to right)

Shirt #1: Urban Outfitters, $39.

Shirt #2: Amazon, $12.

Shirt #3: Tillys, $24.99.

 

 

 

CAPITALIST COCA COLA TEE

(From left to right)

Shirt #1: Urban Outfitters, $39.

Shirt #2: Etsy, $25.

Shirt #3: Amazon, $13.50.

 

VINTAGE #SELENAFOREVER TEE

(These aren’t exact matches, but they’re all really pretty).

(From left to right)

Shirt #1: Urban Outfitters, $34.

Shirt #2: Forever 21, $15.90.

Shirt #3: Etsy, $26.

 

SPACE NERD CLASSIC NASA TEE

(From left to right)

Shirt #1: Urban Outfitters, $34.

Shirt #2: Amazon, $17.99.

Shirt #3: Target, $12.99.

 

AALIYAH PRINCESS OF R&B TEE

(These aren’t exact matches, but they’re all really pretty).

(From left to right)

Shirt #1: Urban Outfitters, $39.

Shirt #2: Ebay, $13.99.

Shirt #3: Amazon, $21.90.

 

IN SUMMATION, although I frequently peruse the sale section of both Urban’s physical and digital spaces, the store’s a capitalist’s dream chockfull of marked up items, cultural appropriation and the ripping off of artists’ artwork.

Leave a Reply

